going to have a valve replacement

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
S

southerner

hello, all i am new to this web, and i am a 34 yr old female and i have just resently been dx with a prolasped valve and a sever heart murmer, i have to have a valve replacement and i am so scared about it bc i have only 2 valves and one is severally leaking, they have said that they are going to have to put a metal valve in me and go thur my ribs to take out the bad valve and i was wondering if someone can e-mail me with some info on that and how they did with the surgery. my e-mail add is [email protected] and i live in nc and i am married with 2 kids

Welcome Melissa!

Welcome Melissa!

Hello Melissa,

I am glad you found us! This is a great on-line support group and you will feel right away that you are amongst friends.
There is a wealth of information here from all kinds of people, and most of us have been where you are today. We will all be there for you to help you through this.
Surgery is not as bad as you think it is. The waiting period before surgery is the absolute worst, but we will be there every step of the way until you are over the "mountain" as we call it.
Heart surgeons are very knowledgeable these days and do these surgeries all the time, so put your trust in them and the medical team.
There actually is very little pain afterwards, just quite a bit discomfort.
You are young Melissa and you'll do just fine, trust me!
I had two AVR surgeries in 2000 for Aortic Stenosis,(read my story for more info) but had no idea that a bad valve was the problem. I had become so used to feeling crappy that it had become normal to me.