Headaches post-surgery

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zara0006

Hi all,

I finally had surgery 3 weeks ago to replace my severely stenotic bicuspid valve with an Edwards tissue valve, and replace the ascending aorta. I’m on warfarin for 3 months and bisoprolol 1.25mg, generally recovering okay but I wake up with an excruciating headache daily, sometimes it starts during the day, sometimes evening, plus I get dizzy spells once or twice a day and generally feel out of it in the afternoon. My blood pressure is very low and I was told this is all to be expected, so I was wondering if anyone else had experienced this and continued on bisoprolol despite the symptoms?

Thanks!

Zara0006 - I'm glad you are doing well overall! You are still in the recovery process, so you will continue to improve.

I am not an expert, but I do know that beta blockers such as bisoprolol affect blood pressure, so dose adjustments may be needed. Please ensure the doctor who prescribes the bisoprolol knows about your low blood pressure, headaches, etc. Be careful that a dizzy spell doesn't lead to a fall!

Hi Zara.

Welcome to the other side. Glad that you came through your surgery ok and are on the mend.

I wake up with an excruciating headache daily
My blood pressure is very low

Low blood pressure can cause headaches. See link below. You indicated that you are on a beta blocker even though you have very low blood pressure. I would suggest discussing lowering your dosage with you doctor. If your blood pressure is naturally low, perhaps you do not even need to be on the beta blocker at this point. Like you, I had a Bentall Procedure. My beta blocker dosage was gradually lowered and then at about 3 months I was taken off of it completely.

Symptoms of low blood pressure​

Constantly low blood pressure can be dangerous if it causes signs and symptoms such as: